The Privilege of Being A Teacher

 

I am grateful for being a teacher because….

Being a teacher is a privilege and a honor.  Teaching is about offering hope all day long and being available to encourage, create and design learning opportunities that have an impact.  I also feel it is about creating a learning culture that is open to the world where all learners can connect, take risks, share their voice and have friends.

Today I am thinking about my own path and reflecting on an amazing year of growth. I have much to be grateful for.  As a teacher I have the ability to help promote empathy, patience, risk taking, acceptance and collaboration. These are ideas that I think are important to think about as I weave a multitude of learning opportunities throughout the day.

So for today…..

I hope…

to inspire ideas through inquiry and passion.

to learn more about “how to” create opportunities globally for my students.  Culture is rich everywhere and I want to find ways to connect and celebrate what the world has to offer.

to be a part of solution based problem solving opportunities where I am able to share my #edvoice in hopes of making education better.

to collaborate with others around making a difference.

to learn alongside my amazing PLN which hopefully will just keep on growing.

to have my thinking challenged through opportunities that present themselves.

to explore nature often with my students.  Nature is full of patterns, fresh air and authentic opportunities to learn about the natural world.

to be able to continue to mentor others who are interested in becoming a teacher.  Teaching is an art and through our ideas we have opportunities to “paint” and “weave” all day.

 

I will….

create and design meaningful learning opportunities alongside my students because this is the heart of my work, where I have and can make an impact.

model and practice daily “how to” have conversations using a variety of tools that will help my students connect, reflect and ask questions.

listen with an open mind and value perspective.  This is vital for all of us to be able to collaborate globally to make a difference to solve world problems.

bring a smile and gratitude daily to build confidence and trust inside/outside of Kindergarten.  Through our ability to accept each other, we develop patience and experience the value of kindness.

show gratitude for former and present families that I have the privilege of knowing who give their time, energy, enthusiasm and support in endless ways.

be transparent in my thinking and use a variety of digital tools to create bridges globally to help solve world problems to make a difference.

pursue new ideas and revisit previous ideas through a different perspective.

make mistakes and experience them as learning opportunities, opportunities for me to grow and have my perspective enhanced.

 

offer invitations to learn alongside others who are learning how to learn for themselves.  This is where I can encourage, question and reflect.

celebrate and recognize others for their ideas and work.  Together we all have the ability to be brilliant and make a difference.

Looking forward to another year of connecting, collaboration, inspiration and growth.  Thanks to all of you who are a part of my journey.  I hope you all are able to dance, sing and laugh often….

I am grateful…..

One response to “The Privilege of Being A Teacher

  1. Great commentary! Xo Dad

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

