Being Grateful: @vermontkkids123

This is a very exciting and busy time of year for everyone.  As a kindergarten teacher I am trying to weave in opportunities for my students to share, reflect,connect and make a difference.  These ideas begin in the beginning days together as we get to know each other and develop, create and design our learning culture together.

This past week we used voicethread as a way to share what we were grateful for as well as Kidblog.  Both of these platforms are opportunities for my students to connect, reflect and inspire others to think about what they are doing to make a difference and also what are they grateful for.

One of the features I like about Kidblog is how versatile it is.  My students can take photos of their ideas and then upload to a blog post.  Sometimes we use other apps as well to create pictures.  After their picture is uploaded my students create a title and last week was the first time we added a thought/sentence expressing our idea!

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 11.11.31 AM

Right away I noticed the writing conventions that we have been exploring being used!  For example; Children were remembering to leave spaces between their words, capitalize the 1st letter of a sentence.  Some even remembered punctuation. I was also thinking about the comprehension in their drawings.  They were detailed and their pictures told a story and reflected their idea of what they were grateful for.  The writing of their thought/sentence matched their illustration.  So as an educator I am able to learn many things from this blog post about my students writing, their understanding of comprehension of an idea and various conventions.

Moving forward this helps me get a sense of what is familiar and known as well as where I need to focus next.  The invented writing reflects their understanding of sound/symbol relationships.  It shows me what they understand a word to be, a thought and how they express themselves.

Another feature about Kidblog is that it has a map of the world.  This is important because my students get to see where people are from throughout the world that are interested in our learning.  As we blog and Tweet our learning we are connecting with others along the way, learning alongside each other.

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 9.28.12 AM

As an educator I begin to create a culture alongside my students that is transparent and reflective.  Our culture is also global because we are sharing our ideas with the world and look forward to getting compliments on our Kidblog posts.

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 11.11.50 AM.jpg

I am most grateful to be able to use a variety of tools that enhance, enrich and engage learning for myself, my students and their families. Through our transparency we are able to connect globally and extend our ideas and learning outside of our classroom walls.

 

One response to “Being Grateful: @vermontkkids123

  1. Andrea Barratt Fitzau

    Hi Sharon,
    This gives me hope! I have used Kidblog the past two years with my K students and loved it. This year we have all our primary classes getting on board and then…the platform change! I am struggling! I was okay with having to pay and our wonderful Parent Group is funding our primary teachers but I find the new platform so much more complicated for the little ones! I was selling the other teachers on how easy it is to use. Even one of our Grade 4/5 teachers is not keen on the changes. This year I have a K/1 and was hoping to teach my 1s and then have them help teach the Ks. I’m inspired after reading your post that even with the new platform Ks can go through all the steps. Any tips would be appreciated. If I can get my class up and running I can then support the other teachers. Love your blog and what you do in your classroom!
    Andrea
    abarrattfitzau@wvschool.ca @afitzau
    @kindercrush

    Like

Leave a Reply

