My Eduwin: What is your #Eduwin?


EDREAch-square-profile

I had the opportunity to be a part of a live podcast yesterday at EduReach with Michelle Russell, Cheryl Lykowski, Carlos Fernandez and James Gubbins.  Wow!  It was an incredible experience.  If you teach, be sure to go to: http://www.whatisyoureduwin.com/  This is where you have an opportunity to share the awesome things that you are discovering with your students and colleagues.

How did I find out about #Eduwin? I was on twitter one afternoon reading about the wonderful things that my PLN was involved in when I read a tweet shared by @flourishingkids.  She shared the link to #eduwin and that it was a great place to share what you are doing.  So because of this tweet, I went to the link, read about #Eduwin and decided to share!  I shared my learning about blogging and the impact it has had on me professionally as well as my students, their families and colleagues.  Shortly after I submitted my idea, #Eduwin contacted me and an interactive, live podcast was organized.

This was my 1st podcast.  It was amazing.  I was able to have conversations with 4 talented people whom I have never met.  They are now a part of my PLN!  What was so great about this podcast was that we were all in different parts of the US;  Vermont, Chicago, Michigan and Florida.  This was possible thanks to Google Hangout!  I am new at using Google Hangouts, but it worked so well.  I felt as though we were all in the same place together.

The conversation was very inspiring for me.  As an educator I feel it is so important to have opportunities to share about what we are doing with our students.  I learn so much from the successes and challenges from my colleagues.  The dialogue is important and vital for my growth as an educator.  Through this type of experience I am now willing to do this again and encourage others to share as well!

I am struck continually by the energy, courage, creativity, perseverance and knowledge that I come across when I am connecting with my PLN.  For me twitter and linkedin play an important role in my transformation and growth.  If you are not using social media as part of your profession, I hope that you will consider it!  The world is a huge place with so many opportunities to connect, collaborate and grow.  I value all of the connections I have made because they have helped me become a strong and transparent teacher, who continues to find ways to make a difference for my students.

Leave a Reply

