Why I Tweet and Use Kidblog In Kindergarten!

Last week one of my students created a post on their kidblog about something they designed with materials at their home. My student took a photograph, created a title and some words to describe what he created. He created something that “worked with electricity”.
Screen shot 2013-04-21 at 11.29.00 AM

Screen shot 2013-04-21 at 11.27.42 AM
Afterwards he sent me a tweet to tell me that he had just created a post. I was able to tweet back using twitter to communicate and connect with my student. I am modeling how to be a safe, kind and responsible digital citizen through an authentic learning opportunity.

On Monday my student shared his kidblog post he created with the class. As you can read from the exchange of tweets I had with my student he understood how to communicate with me to let me know that he had something to say/share. (click on photograph to enlarge) This is a reflection of how young students can use social media in regards to their learning. This young child is beginning to understand and experience the power of using social media and blogging as platforms to connect and reflect with others. This is how I can help educate and give my young students meaningful experiences with social media and blogging.
Screen shot 2013-04-21 at 10.11.23 AM

Some observations I made while my student was sharing his kidblog were very telling of the awareness being created in regards to the technology I am using in Kindergarten. I was also thinking about the opportunities my young students have had to make observations and be reflective about those tools as well in regards to their learning.

My student was at the computer using the mouse and went to touch the screen. He said; “Oh wait, this isn’t an iPad or a SMART board. What side of the mouse do I click Mrs. D.” Right away I was reminded about the tools we use and how important it is to use a variety of tools to help students become flexible and adaptable when they are interacting with their learning. He adapted right away and continued to share.

I then asked my student why he tweeted me. He said; Because I wanted to tell you what I did on my kidblog.” Another student shared; “That’s communicating!” Yes it is! Wow! This is really amazing to me because my students are developing an awareness of audience, how to communicate in ways beyond the classroom walls and experiencing the feeling of receiving comments and compliments in regards to their discoveries.

Kidblog is a platform available for all of my students and their families. It provides endless opportunities for them to connect, collaborate and celebrate what is important to them. Kidblog is a wonderful way for my students and their families to share their discoveries outside of the classroom and an opportunity to experience how to use kidblog in a safe, kind and responsible way.

Twitter is a way for me to model along with my students and their families the value of being connected and sharing with others. Through experiences like this my students begin to develop an awareness of audience. They experience the “how to” use social media as well as the importance of receiving feedback from others who make connections with what they are sharing.
DSCF2417

Through this type of interaction my parents will understand and experience the value of using kidblog and twitter in regards to learning. The beauty here is that my students and their parents are using the technological tools together, at a young age. This gives everyone opportunities to engage and enrich their learning experiences in meaningful, safe ways. As an educator I am responsible for my students, but also their families. I try to be transparent in my thinking and practice when using technology so my families will do the same.

4 responses to “Why I Tweet and Use Kidblog In Kindergarten!

  1. Very good work,kids Learn quickly! Dad

    Robert E. Dedmon MD MPH FACP FACOEM FFTM RCPSG Theda Clark Medical Center, Thedacare, Neenah WI 54956 Clinical Professor Global Health/MPH Programs Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee 53226 Editorial advisory board, Asian Biomedicine, CHULALONGKORN University, Bangkok Thailand Board Member Global Alliance for Rabies Control drbobred123@gmail.com or drbobred@aol.com Sent from my iPad

    Like

  2. I love that you are doing this with your class. I have a 4th grade class on Kidblog. I feel like you are teaching etiquette of the future, and I am excited to see what your kids will be able to do in a few years with all of the skills you are already teaching them.

    Like

  3. Rosetta Pappano

    I really enjoyed your article on kid blog and twitter I think its great how you and your students are using twitter to learn and communicate keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

