What’s Been Happening In Kindergarten?

I have been thinking a lot lately about not only how lucky I am to be a Kindergarten teacher, but the reasons why. So I thought that I would share what’s been happening.

For me Kindergarten is like a breath of fresh air each day. The excitement for learning is contagious and never ending!

1. Celebrating! We celebrate numerous times throughout the year in a variety of ways. Recently we just had a Dr. Seuss Luncheon! My students were able to share what they learned and enjoyed from this author study through turning and talking, creating books, creating and designing a blog post on their kidblog. Each child was able to use Doodle Buddy to create an illustration to go along with their post too! Then we made comments on each others posts. I also emailed my parents and asked them to leave comments too! Wow! My students experience how they can not only share their celebrations of learning with others, but also that others find their ideas interesting!rose

2. Connecting! My students have connected with other kindergarten students outside of our school community through Skype and twitter! Both of these tools have given my students real life experiences in exploring the world outside of our walls in a safe, kind and responsible way. The connections we have made give us opportunities to be accepting of others and to value and respect how we are the same and different.

DSCF2417

Twitter continues to be a place where we can model how to be a safe, kind and responsible digital citizen. This week I gave my students a special ‘Twitter award” for tweeting to others. They were thrilled! I asked them why they liked their award and they shared because we tweet and we share what we do in Kindergarten. This social media continues to be a valuable resource and a way for my students, their families and me connect and discover the world!DSCF2387

3. Creating and Designing!

During a math workshop time this past week we were using iPads to write our numbers. One of my students came up with an idea. Using NumberRak we built numbers and then created them on Doodle Buddy! So I was so surprised and thrilled! My students are beginning to think about how technology can enhance and deepen their understanding of what they understand.DSCF2390

During a writer’s workshop time 1 of my students wanted to see a Dr. Seuss book, but I only had 1 copy. She thought that she could just Google it! So we did! She found the picture she wanted for her illustration of a writing response she was creating.DSCF2276

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/62461515″>Google</a&gt; from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user6476024″>Sharon Davison</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

During another writing time one of my students needed a book with a bike in it. He was unsure how to draw. We did not have any books, but this student decided to Google bike on an iPad to help him out! This seems to be happening a lot and in a very authentic way. Really amazing for me and my students.

4. Collaborating!
My students make connections with the ideas we share through blogging as a way we collaborate with others. This video says it all!

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/62461514″>blogging kkids</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user6476024″>Sharon Davison</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

So Kindergarten life is really busy and wonderful. Everyday holds new discoveries and experiences. The learning is inspiring and energizing. What a wonderful place to be.

Leave a Reply

